What is the Riviera Maya Jazz Festival?

The Riviera Maya Jazz Festival (RMJF) is an annual jazz music festival typically held in late November in Playa del Carmen.

It has been produced by Fernando Tousaint since 2003 with the support of the municipal institute of culture and arts and is already established as one of the best jazz festivals in the world receiving more than 50 000 visitors.

During its first 3 editions it was called Riviera Maya Latin Jazz Festival but was changed to just Riviera Maya Jazz Festival to reflect its international and inclusive character.

Jazz Festival 2024 edition

No dates or list of this year’s participating artists have been announced yet.

20th edition of the Riviera Maya Jazz Festival.


Riviera Maya Jazz Festival

Jazz Festival Stage. Photo by RivieraMaya.mx.

Riviera Maya Jazz Festival Line up.

Riviera Maya Jazz festival logo
The line up of the Riviera Maya Jazz Festival is always top notch and each year brings recognized icons of this musical genre:

2023 Edition: Spanish Harlem Orchestra, Arturo Sandoval, Pedrito Martínez, Iraida Noriega, Chris Botti, Snarky puppy, Antonio Sánchez and Aguamala.

2021 Edition: Brian Skonberg, Elizabeth Meza, Ravi Coltrane, Luri Molina, Kurt Elling ft Charlie Hunter, Alex Campos, Dannah Garay, Roberto Verástegui, Zaicocirco, Giovanni Figueroa, 20 varos.

2020 Edition: Aguamala, Xamán, Elite band, Diego Maroto quartet, Memo Ruiz bolero flamenco, Pepe Hernández and Paco Rosas quintet.

2019 Edition: Cucho Vandés Jazz Batá, Magos Herrera, Sr. Mandrill, Trombon Shorty & Orleans Avenue, Eliane Elias, Eliane Marrokin, UB40, pbUG and New York Voices.

2018 Edition: Kike Pat, Lori Williams & Bob Baldwin, Bebel Gilberto, Paco Rosas & PK Bnd, Cristina Morrison, Drew Tucker & The New Standard, Norah Jones, Pepe Hernández, Lalah Hathaway and Bobby McFerrin.

2017 Edition: Señor Vitalis, Bernardo Ron, Luis Ernesto Lopez, Zoar Miranda, Cecilia Toussaint, Illya Kuryaki and the Valderramas, Steffie Beltt, John McLaughlin, Jimmy Herring, 4th Dimension Band, Memo Ruíz Bolero Jazz Big Band, Wallace Roney, Chick Corea, Béla Fleck and Bobby McFerrin.

2016 Edition: Steve Gadd Band, Paco Rosas, Gonzalo Rubalcaba (Volcan Trio), Blood Sweat & Tears, Bo Bice, Dylan Elise, Jeff Lorber, Fisura Fuky Band, Antonio Sanchez and Migration, Dirty Loops, Aguamala and Bill Evans.

2015 Edition: Gabriel Espinosa, Resorte, Alan Holdsworth, Shela E., Guacamole, Phil Perry, Dirty Loops, Zappa Plays Zappa, Torus, Tio Gus and Zawinul Legacy.

2014 Edition: Colin Hunter, Pato Machete, TAKE 6, Jorge Vercillo, Hiram Gómez, Pat Metheny Unity Band (Chris Potter, Antonio Sanchez, Ben Williams), Kenny Garrett, Virgil Donati and Chick Corea & The Vigil.

2013 Edition: Aguamala, Brent Fischer, Celso Piña, Ed Motta, Earth , Wind & Fire, Frank Gambale, Matthew Garrison, Scott Henderson, Dennis Chambers & Jeff Berlin and Jim Beard.

Richard Bona. Photo by RivieraMaya.mx.


As every year, participation in the festival is free and no ticket is required. It typically lasts 2 or 3 days and starts around 7:00 pm.

A VIP section is usually available with slightly fewer people and relatively close to the stage for around $1 USD.


Mamitas Beach, in front of Mamita’s Beach Club. 28th street north and the beach, neighborhood Gonzalo Guerrero.

You can check the list of artistic and future editions of this great festival on the official website.

Official site: rivieramayajazzfestival.com